Most information and settings pertaining to billing are located within the
Billing Info page of the Cloud Manager. Follow the instructions below to access this page:
Log in to the
Cloud Manager on a user account with one of the following permissions. See
Setting User Permissions for more details.
Full account access (unrestricted).
Restricted user with Read-Write permissions under Billing Access. Users with Read Only permissions are able to see most billing information but they are not able to make changes.
Click on the Account link on the left menu, which displays the
Billing Info page.
This page contains several sections:
Account Balance: The current balance on the account. This includes any past due amounts from unpaid invoices as well as any positive balance remaining from credits or promo codes. In the screenshot above, the account has a positive balance of $10.
Promotions: If there is an active promo/coupon applied to the account, it will be displayed here along with the remaining balance and any expiration date. If there are no active promotions, this section is hidden.
Accrued Charges: The charges that have accrued since your last invoice. This updates frequently to include the hourly charges (up to the monthly cap) for all paid services on the account, as well as any other charges. In the screenshot above, the account has accrued $8.51 of charges since the last invoice. See the
Billing Overview guide for help understanding these charges.
Billing Contact: The name, address, phone number, and email address for the primary billing contact on the account. See
Update Billing Contact Information.
Payment Methods: The payment methods that have been added to the account.
Billing & Payment History: Displays a list of previous invoices and payments, along with links to view or download each entry. See
View Invoices and Payment History
To prevent additional charges from accruing and stop further billing, you can remove any paid services from your account or cancel your account entirely.
Linode services are provided without a contract or commitment. This means that you can remove them from your account at any time. Here are instructions for removing a Compute Instance:
Log in to the
Cloud Manager and select Linodes from the sidebar menu.
Locate the Compute Instance you wish to delete.
Expand the corresponding more options ellipsis menu and click Delete.
Select Delete Linode in the confirmation box that appears.
If you wish to delete other services, follow the links below:
Removing a service from your account makes its data irretrievable. In the case of a Compute Instance, any corresponding Backup service is also deleted and you will no longer be able to restore from those backup snapshots.
If you would like to preserve your data before removing a service from your account, you need to create an external backup. You may use the suggestions in our
Backing Up Your Data guide for some examples of how to do this.
When removing a Compute Instance from your account that has been active for at least 24 hours, a
Recovery Image is automatically created. To learn how to deploy this image, see
Deploy an Image to a New Compute Instance.
There is a very small chance that Linode Support can restore your data outside of these circumstances. The sooner you reach out to Linode Support, the more likely this can occur. Please open
a Support ticket to explore this possibility.
If you no longer wish to use any Linode services, you can also cancel your account. When an account is cancelled, you may receive one final bill. This bill includes all charges that have already accrued during the billing period. See
Cancel Your Account to learn more.